We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Girl In The Trees

by Nicole Perrott Hughes

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    This album comes in a crystal CD case with a 16 page art booklet to accompany the song collection designed by Nicole Perrott Hughes.

    The first 100 copies sold each receive a limited edition set of four postcards designed by graphic artist Graham Higgins especially for the release of The Girl In The Trees. He describes them as 'fan art'

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Girl In The Trees via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      £10 GBP or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £10 GBP  or more


Let It Out 03:42
Are We Ok ? 03:55
False False 04:07
Mom's Boat 01:56
Bolt Hole 04:04
Next Time 03:45


This is Nicole's much awaited first solo album, following on from her recordings with the band Slim Pickins, a retrospective collection of this appears on the compilation album 'Nicole'.

The Girl In The Trees has been a massive adventure of a learning curve for Nicole making a collection of highly personal songs written over the last couple of years. There are fifteen tracks, all self penned apart from Let It Out which is co-written with friend Graham Higgins and False False which is Nicole's interpretation of a traditional Aberdeenshire travellers' song.

Love, family, friendship and relationships are themes that run throughout the songs. Nicole has written songs for her Mom, about conversations with her Nan, advice for her daughter and a song dedicated to friendship.

Nicole has worked with her talented friends who have added their unique layers to the tracks. All the tracks are guitar based, some just very simply intimate guitar and vocal to others that are layered with combinations of bass, percussion, piano, strings and slide guitar, there are a few fancy mixing tricks on there but on the whole it is very acoustic and uncomplicated.

For Nicole producing the artwork to accompany the songs has been just as important, as she says she has made an art album too!


I would like to thank my lovely family for their support especially my biggest fans my Mommy & Daddy.

Thank you to my Barbie who has given me the time, the space and the encouragement that has allowed me to be a creative soul.

I thank my lucky stars that I have such supportive friends who have kept me (mostly) sane, you know who you are, Bolt Hole is dedicated to you.

Thank you to every talented friend who has helped me to take what was in my head and make it real, I couldn't have done it without you.

Thank you to Dave Howard and Tony Price for your encouragement, sharing your knowledge and talents, you made my big adventure happen!

Thank you to the communities of supportive musicians and facilitators that keep music live: especially Jan, Paul and The Alvechurch Acoustic Roots Team.

Thank you to Graham Higgins for producing the extra artwork to accompany the album, or 'fan-art' as he calls it !

and lastly thank YOU for buying a copy, I hope you enjoy it x


released February 18, 2018

All songs written by Nicole Perrott Hughes, except Let It Out, which was co-written with Graham Higgins, and False False which is a traditional song arranged by Nicole.

Images and lyrics for all songs, and more info about Nicole can be found at madeinlove.co.uk/release-list

Nicole Perrott Hughes -
Lead Vocals and acoustic guitars on all tracks. Fiddley fiddle and viola on Nothing's Changed and celtic whistle on False False.

Dave Howard -
Bass guitar on The Girl In The Trees, Let It Out, A New Place To HIde, I Put My Heart Out, False False, Risk Your Heart and Back In Your Arms. Piano on Mend'n'Make Do. String arrangements on The Girl In The Trees. Desk voodoo on A New Place To Hide and False False.

Anneley McMillan -
Backing vocals like sky hugs on Next Time, Risk Your Heart, I Put My Heart Out and Some Stay 'n' Measure.

Tony Price -
Gretsch / slide guitars and solo arrangements on Risk Your Heart, False False and Back In Your Arms.

Leah Yendell -
Fiddle loveliness on Mend 'n' Make Do, Let It Out and Mom's Boat.

Martin Salter -
Acoustic bass guitar (with minty balls) and solo arrangement on Are We Ok ?

Freddie -
Bodhran and hand percussion magic on Let It Out and I Put My Heart Out. Drums on Back In Your Arms.

© & ℗ 2017 Nicole Perrott Hughes, madeinlove.co.uk . All Rights Reserved. Unauthorised copying, hiring, lending, broadcast or public
performance prohibited.

Produced, engineered and mastered by Dave Howard for Paddywack Arts www.paddywackarts.co.uk, assisted by Tony Price.

Recorded at Carbon/Mercury Music Studios, apart from Mend 'n' Make Do, recorded at The New Smithy, Withybed Green. Album mixed at The Oaks, Hollywood.

© 2017 Nicole Perrott-Hughes, All Rights Reserved.


all rights reserved



Nicole Perrott Hughes England, UK

A singer- songwriter writing and performing guitar based songs. Partial capo experimenter, fiddle and accordion student and part time tinker fairy.


contact / help

Contact Nicole Perrott Hughes

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Nicole Perrott Hughes, you may also like: